Chateau Raceway 5/6/16

May 6, 2016  |  by Matthew Grage

Week two of racing action rolled out Friday night at Chateau Raceway with Mother Nature providing the perfect night for the action despite some rolling clouds and thunder off to the east.    After wet and cool weather with temperatures only in the 40’s cancelling action last week fans and drivers were met with mostly sunny skies and temperatures in the 80’s as the heat races moved out onto the track.

The key to the heat races on the night was leading the first lap because every driver but one who lead the first lap took home the checkers.   Ralph Hanks of Waseca worked from row three of his Hornet heat on lap two to get to the front and score his first win of the season.  Marissa Wolff of Janesville took the classes other heat win leading from the pole flag to flag for the win.  Hanks and Wolff started front row in the feature and it was Hanks who took the early lead with Blake Dorweiller of Montgomery coming out of row two on the start to settle in between them.   The top two dueled it out until just past halfway when Blake made his move out of turn four cutting to the bottom and moving to the point where he stayed the rest of the way to make his first trip of the year to victory lane.  Hanks held on for second ahead of Bobby Blowers of Waseca who worked his way from row four up to a third place finish.

Dan Wheeler of Savage was the first of three drivers on the night to score clean sweeps with heat and feature wins as he turned the trick in the WISSOTA Midwest Modified class.   After starting front row in his heat he had to work from row three in the feature to score the win.   Jacob Stark of Austin paced the field for the first lap before as Wheeler worked his way forward.  Dan ran fourth on lap one before jumping two spots to second on lap two and setting his sights on Stark.  On lap four he made his move to the front but he brought company with Ryan Goergen of Stacyville Iowa coming with him.   Just past halfway Dan made a little slip and Ryan was able to slip by him but a caution before the field came back around to complete a lap but him back in front for the restart and from there he drove it home to victory lane.  Dustin Steinbrink of Austin who was working out of row four ran a nice race working his way up through the field and was able to slip by for second right at the end of the race pushing Goergen back to third.  Adam Martinson of Plymouth took the classes other heat win.

In WISSOTA Street Stock action Mike Blowers of Waseca scored his second straight feature win of the young season .  After starting back in row four he ran a patient race avoiding getting involved in several of the early cautions that plagued the race.  Noah Grinstead of Austin was the first of the drivers to lead the race as he came off the front row to lead the first two laps before Bernie Adams of Stacyville Iowa took his turn on the point.  Blowers moved to the lead just before halfway and rode home to the win.  Adams and Kyle King of Hastings scored the heat wins for the class.

Scoring not only his second straight feature win to open the season but also completing the sweep with a win in his heat as well was Kylie Kath of Owatonna in the USRA B Mod class.  Kath had the advantage of the front row start to get the early lead but Brandon Hare of Elma Iowa lead the majority of the laps as he went past for the lead on lap two.   Kylie stayed behind him and retook the lead for good as the two came to the white flag.  Hare finished second ahead of Kadden Kath of Owatonna who was the other heat winner for the class on the night.

USRA A Mods saw another repeat feature winner as Brandon Davis of Medford started on the pole and never looked as he scored the win.   Defending Track Point Champion for the class, Darwyn Karau of Kasson won the battle for second over Jason Cummins of New Richland in a battle which saw them swap spots a couple times.  Karau and Greg Pfeifer JR of Brownsdale scored heat wins.

The Pure Stocks were the only class that did not have enough cars to run two heats.  Jason Newkirk of Austin won the classes heat while Brady Krohnberg of Walters took the big prize with the feature win.  Krohnberg followed pole sitter Matt Brooks of Austin around the track for the first half of the race before taking advantage of a restart after a lap eight caution.  Brady got the got start and went to the front and kept his machine out front the rest of the way.  Brooks held on for second ahead of Brandon Shaner of Owatonna.

Racing action resumes next Friday night at 7:00 with the first green flag.

Pure Stocks

Feature: Brady Krohnberg - Walters, Matt Brooks – Austin, Brandon Shaner – Owatonna, Stacy Krohnberg – Walters, Jason Newkirk – Austin, Daniel Guttormson – Austin, Chris Hotovec – Dodge Center, Jim Briggs – Waseca, Cole Kroneman - Austin
Heat: Newkirk, S Krohnberg, Brooks, Shaner, B Krohnberg, Guttormson, Briggs, Hotovec, Kroneman


Feature: Kylie Kath – Owatonna, Brandon Hare – Elma IA, Kadden Kath – Owatonna, Jayden Larson – Mankato, Taylor Ausrud – Hayfield, AJ Zvorak – Blooming Prairie, Mark Wytaske – Austin, Raey Hastings – Austin, Morgan Schrage – Cresco IA, Chris Bruns – Owatonna, Cole Lonergan – Dexter, Jesse Baer – Minnesota Lake
Heat 1: Ky Kath, Wytaske, Hare, Lonergan, Zvorak, Larson
Heat 2: Ka Kath, Ausrud, Baer, Bruns, Schrage, Hastings

WISSOTA Street Stock

Feature: Mike Blowers – Waseca, Kory Adams – Stacyville IA, Bernie Adams – Stacyville IA, Kyle King – Hastings, Noah Grinstead – Austin, Durand Peterson – Glenwood, Blake Adams – Stacyville IA, Fred Prudoehl – Winona, Ryan Jacobsen – Rochester, Mike Chisholm – Osage IA, Brandon Downs – Austin, Zach Elward – Hayfield, Brent Holland – Glenville, James Connors - Waseca
Heat 1: King, Blowers, K Adams, Grinstead, Prudoehl, Jacobsen, B Adams
Heat 2: B Adams, Elward, Peterson, Holland, Chisholm, Downs, Connors

WISSOTA Midwest Modified

Feature: Dan Wheeler – Savage, Dustin Steinbrink – Austin, Ryan Goergen – Stacyville IA, Adam Martinson – Plymouth, Michael Wytaske – Lansing, Jeremy Misgen – New Richland, Casey Trom – Zumbrota, Brayten Cisneros – Blooming Prairie, Tianna Mithun – Freeborn, Billy Steinberg – Kasson, Jacob Stark – Austin, Daryl Hainka – Wannamingo, Garitt Wytaske – Lansing, Luke Hainka - Wannamingo
Heat 1: Martinson, Steinbrink, Goergen, Stark, G Wytaske, Steinberg, L Hainka
Heat 2: Wheeler, Cisneros, Misgen, M Wytaske, Trom, Mithun, D Hainka


Feature: Brandon Davis – Medford, Darwyn Karau – Kasson, Jason Cummins – New Richland, Doug Hillson – Blooming Prairie, Brandon Aggen – Miltona, Greg Pfeifer JR – Brownsdale, Joe Horgdahl – Kasson, Greg Jensen – Albert Lea, Jacob Stark – Austin, Jim King - Hastings
Heat 1: Pfeifer JR, Cummins, Davis, Jensen, Stark
Heat 2: Karau, Aggen, Horgdahl, Hillson, King


Feature: Blake Dorweiler – Montgomery, Ralph Hanks – Waseca, Bobby Blowers – Waseca, Michael Weiss -Bloomington, Dan Knish – Kilkenny, Marissa Wolff – Janesville, Nick Sillman – Minnesota Lake, Cody Hyatt – Waseca, Dan Lewison – Dexter, Travis Hyatt – Waseca, Jacob Bennett – Albert Lea, Caylie Blowers - Waseca
Heat 1: Hanks, Dorweiler, Weiss, T Hyatt, Lewison, Bennett
Heat 2: Wolff, Knish, C Hyatt, B Blowers, Sillman, C Blowers