NEXT EVENT  Saturday, October 8
Enduro- Full Size and Compacts 12:00

Car Rides for the Kids highlighted Kids Night Friday Night at Chateau Speedway

Print this page
August 20, 2021

Chateau Speedway (Lansing, MN) 8/20/2021                                                                                                       Matthew Grage


                One of the highlights on the schedule every year at Chateau Speedway is Kids Night.  The drivers look forward to it as much as the kids do as they head out on the track an hour before race time and the kids line up to get a ride in the cars.  The track always brings out a couple bikes to giveaway as well and again the drivers, along with some fans, bring more bikes out and before you know it there’s a dozen happy youngsters going home with a new bike as well as other prizes and candy.  Plus the free ice cream treats for the younger crowd at intermission and a beautiful night out for some racing action make it an enjoyable night for all.

                The biggest race of the night was against Mother Nature as a line of storms was set up in western Minnesota and expected about 9:00.  The drivers ran through the heats with just one caution and than after a short intermission to give the bikes away The Track made it through four of the six features with just four cautions amongst them before having to call an end to the night.  As the fifth of the feature, the Action Builders WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds were pulling onto the speedway word came down of severe weather five miles out and the fans were sent to there cars and drivers back to there trailers.  The two features that were not run, the Midwest Mods and the USRA B Mods will run make up events in two weeks on Season Championship Night.  Next week is the “Spirit of 83 Memorial” with a full night of racing slated the officials decided to hold onto the make-up features for an extra week.  Hunter Kennedy of St Ansgar Iowa and Scott Demmer of Ellendale took the B Mod Heats while Kadden Kath of Ellendale and Greg Pfeifer Junior of Austin took the Midwest Mods heats.

                In action that was completed Jason Cummins added another feature win to his season total in the French’s Repair USRA A Mod Class.  The New Richland driver and Dwaine Hansen of Lakeville were the only two drivers left on the lead lap of the caution free feature.  Cummins also claimed the classes lone heat win.

                Multiple feature winners was the theme of the night in the Power 96 WISSOTA Pure Stocks and Adams Graphix WISSOTA Street Stocks as well.  Zach Elward of Hayfield chaulked up another feature win in the Streets while Andrew Eischens of Taopi made another visit to victory lane in the Pures.  Jack Paulson of Morristown and George Schrump of Rochester took the Pure Stock heats while Elward and Jason Newkirk of Austin took the heats for the Streeters.

                In Skjeveland Sanitation and Roll-Off Service WISSOTA Hornets Brian Schott of Red Wing scored his second feature win of the year.  Timothy Barnett of Owatonna and Colin Wittenberg of Hastings grabbed the heats.

                Next week it’s the long awaited running of the “Spirit of 83” Memorial  which was washed out back on Memorial Day weekend.  The race, which remembers the legacy of Mike Guttormson and all those who had his Spirit and Love for Chateau Speedway that have gone on ahead to that big dirt track in the sky.  This years running of the “A Mod Guttormson Memorial Main Event” will feature a generous payout with the winner taking home $2500.   All six regular classes will be on hand for what should be a great night of racing action with bonus payouts in all classes including $500 to win in Midwest Mods and B Mods, $350 to win in Street Stocks, and $125 each in Pure Stock and Hornet classes.



Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 02K-Hunter Kennedy-St Ansgar IA[1]; 2. 99-Noah Grinstead-Austin [2]; 3. 44-Matthew Brooks-Austin [4]; 4. 45-Cole Lonergan-Dexter[3]; 5. 53-Tianna Mithun-New Richland[5]; 6. 71-Jamie Tapp-Myrtle[6]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 30-Scott Demmer-Ellendale[4]; 2. 83R-Kullen Kath-Owatonna[2]; 3. 75-Tyson Boge-Orchard IA[1]; 4. 81K-Caleb Korpi-Claremont[5]; 5. 4-Greg Brooks-Spring Valley[3


French’s Repair USRA A MODIFIED

A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 71-Jason Cummins-New Richland[2]; 2. 1A-Dwaine Hanson-Lakefield[3]; 3. 77-Jacob Stark-Austin[1]; 4. 33-Joe Ludemann-Grand Meadow [5]; 5. 72-Doug Hillson-Blooming Prairie[4]; 6. 15-Chris Loberg-Elma IA[6]; 7. 14-Scott Gronvold-Grand Meadow [7]; 8. (DNS) 90-Ryan Wetzstein-West Concord

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 71-Jason Cummins[1]; 2. 33-Joe Ludemann[4]; 3. 1A-Dwaine Hanson[5]; 4. 72-Doug Hillson[6]; 5. 77-Jacob Stark[2]; 6. 15-Chris Loberg[3]; 7. 14-Scott Gronvold[8]; 8. (DNS) 90-Ryan Wetzstein



A Feature 1 (15 Laps): 1. 7X-Andrew Eischens-Taopi [7]; 2. 17P-Jack Paulson-Morristown[8]; 3. 44D-PJ Duchene-Faribault[10]; 4. 26-Brady Krohnberg-Walters[6]; 5. 88S-George Schrumpf-Rochester[1]; 6. 96-Kyndra Guttormson-Chatfield[11]; 7. 31G-Michael Gift-Faribault[9]; 8. 75N-Dylan Nirk-Blooming Prairie[12]; 9. 33-Jim Briggs-Waseca[2]; 10. (DNF) 1-Troy Maas-Faribault[5]; 11. (DNF) 17-Michael Wick-Faribault[4]; 12. (DNF) 00-Bobby Crews-Austin[3]

Heat 1 (6 Laps): 1. 17P-Jack Paulson[4]; 2. 17-Michael Wick[2]; 3. 1-Troy Maas[3]; 4. 33-Jim Briggs[1]; 5. 31G-Michael Gift[5]; 6. 96-Kyndra Guttormson[6]

Heat 2 (6 Laps): 1. 88S-George Schrumpf[1]; 2. 26-Brady Krohnberg[4]; 3. 7X-Andrew Eischens[2]; 4. 00-Bobby Crews[3]; 5. 44D-PJ Duchene[5]; 6. 75N-Dylan Nirk[6]



A Feature 1 (18 Laps): 1. 15-Zach Elward-Hayfield[5]; 2. 01-Kory Adams-Stacyville IA[10]; 3. 32-Jason Newkirk-Austin[6]; 4. 1R-Cole Richards-Mondovi WI[7]; 5. 36-Ross Spitzer-Blooming Prarie[4]; 6. 3R-Danny Richards-Mondovi WI[8]; 7. 46-Stacy Krohnberg-Walters[3]; 8. 34-Mike Blowers-Waseca[13]; 9. 99-Greg Lammers-Owatonna[1]; 10. 147-Brent Holland-Glenville [11]; 11. (DNF) 21-Brandon Downs-Brownsdale[12]; 12. (DNF) 42-Cody Hyatt-waseca[2]; 13. (DNF) 39J-Dan Klingfus-Austin[9]

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 15-Zach Elward[6]; 2. 1R-Cole Richards[4]; 3. 99-Greg Lammers[5]; 4. 46-Stacy Krohnberg[3]; 5. 39J-Dan Klingfus[1]; 6. 147-Brent Holland[2]; 7. (DNF) 34-Mike Blowers[7]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 32-Jason Newkirk[2]; 2. 3R-Danny Richards[3]; 3. 42-Cody Hyatt[1]; 4. 36-Ross Spitzer[5]; 5. 01-Kory Adams[6]; 6. (DNF) 21-Brandon Downs[4]




A Feature 1 (15 Laps): 1. 21S-Brian Schott-Red Wing [1]; 2. 5S-Nick Sillman-Janesville[8]; 3. 19C-Colin Wittenberg-Hastings[5]; 4. 3D-Daniel Bjonfald-Bloomington[7]; 5. 134-Robert Blowers-Waseca[6]; 6. 6-Timothy Barnett-Owatonna[3]; 7. 20K-Zach Korpi-Ellendale[9]; 8. 511-Shawn Poston-Red Wing [4]; 9. (DNF) 18-Nathan Braaten-Austin [2]; 10. (DNS) 77-Aaron Morgan-Albert LEa; 11. (DNS) 511JR-Maison Poston-Red WIng; 12. (DNS) 21X-Philip Wittenberg-Hastings

Heat 1 (5 Laps): 1. 6-Timothy Barnett[4]; 2. 21S-Brian Schott[5]; 3. 5S-Nick Sillman[6]; 4. 511-Shawn Poston[3]; 5. 20K-Zach Korpi[1]; 6. 77-Aaron Morgan[2]

Heat 2 (5 Laps): 1. 19C-Colin Wittenberg[2]; 2. 3D-Daniel Bjonfald[1]; 3. 134-Robert Blowers[4]; 4. 18-Nathan Braaten[3]; 5. (DNF) 511JR-Maison Poston[5]; 6. (DQ) 21X-Philip Wittenberg[6]



Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 83X-Kadden Kath-Ellendale[2]; 2. 43-Scott Simmons-Lakeville [1]; 3. 23B-Michael Wytaske-Hartland[6]; 4. 33-Darryl Hainka-Wannamingo[4]; 5. 79H-Luke Hainka-Wannamingo[5]; 6. 44Z-Anton Nelson-Hayfield [7]; 7. 97-Josh Winsky-Rochester[3]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 00JR-Greg Pfeifer Jr-Austin [2]; 2. 17-Trevis Underdahl-Northfield[6]; 3. 40-Colton Kramer-Pine Island[1]; 4. 38-Kenny Wytaske-Austin[4]; 5. G12-Ryan Goergen-Stacyville IA[5]; 6. 79-Jeremy Misgen-New Richland[3]; 7. 66R-Weston Voeltz-Claremont[7]