Hall Of Fame Week At Chateau Speedway - "Used with Permission from "Chateau Speedway History" Facebook Group Page

Print this page
June 16, 2019

   *** Shared from the "Chateau Speedway History" Group Page on Face Book


Its The Week “The Inaugural Chateau Speedway Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony” is this Friday Night.   Chateau Legends Dave Bjorge, Ole Brua, Verlin Eaker, Mike Guttormson, Don Lowe, Don McAllister, Dave Noble, Greg Pfeifer, LeRoy Scharkey, John “Sonny” Van Willigen, Mert Williams, Gerhard Wollenburg and Don Wytaske will comprise the driver portion of the Inaugural Class along with “Legacy Members” Howard and Art Smith, Original Owners and Promoters who Started The Track in 1956.  All the living members have been invited and are expected to be on hand while, Brua, Guttormson, Lowe, McAllister, and Wytaske along with the Smith’s will be represented by Family Members.


A “Hall of Fame” for the Speedway has been a goal for many years and Mark and Annette Wytaske, after purchasing The Track last year were kind enough to jump on board with the idea this year.  As many of you are probably aware this “Chateau Speedway History” Face book Group page was started before they bought the Track and while they support our group it’s not The Tracks Official page.   And since I have been trying to encourage this idea for many years, I am now trying to encourage others who share a Passion for The Track to help Sponsor part of the costs for this. This idea was not mine but brought up to me and I thought it was a fine idea and the idea has already caught on.  We first need to give a big Thank You to “Buck Monson Photo’s” who takes many outstanding photos every week for everyone at Chateau Speedway, for coming up with the Sponsorship Money to Pay for the Awards themselves.  A tent with tables and chairs has also been lined up for our Inductees to sit and visit with fellow drivers and fans before the races.  The Track has also arranged to have some Hors d’oeuvres for our Inductees as well.  Klane Dushek of “The Dirt Show” and his Wife Shelly have come up with some funding to help offset the costs for the night as well along with Roger Dushek, Keith Kreuger and a few others.  Anyone else who would like to contribute can do so at The Track Friday Night.  There will actually be two tents.  A small one outside to register the guests and one inside.  Any contributions can be made at either tent or at one of the concession stands. 


The Track is inviting all the Inductees to come out as early as 5:30 and anyone who would like a chance to see and possibly visit with any of the former drivers are welcome as well.  However the Hospitality Snacks will be reserved for those being honored.    The time is a change in what was originally announced and told to the drivers or their families when they were contacted in the last month.  They were told 6:30 originally so attempts will be made to contact them again to tell them of the time change, meanwhile anyone who knows any of the families is encouraged to pass the time change along so they can be there earlier to visit.  The Awards and Induction Ceremony will be during Intermission.


Please come out and share in what is sure to be a Very Special Night.