Chateau Raceway 8/5/16

Print this page
August 5, 2016  |  by Matthew Grage

The 60th Anniversary Season of Racing Action continued Friday night at Chateau Raceway in Lansing. After a week of high humidity and temperatures near 90 the weatherman served up a perfect night for racing action with the temperatures dropping back into the low 70’s. Fans and drivers alike must have been looking for some nicer weather. A good crowd and a nice field of cars filled the pits for the nights racing action which featured two heats in each class.

Repeat winners visited victory lane for the most part on the night with the exception being Nick Koelher of Bloomer Wisconsin who took home the feature win in his first visit to the track in the WISSOTA Midwest Modified Class. Nick started outside of row three and made a quick move to third on the opening lap falling in behind Ryan Wetzstein of West Concord and Jeremy Misgen of New Richland. He moved into second on lap 4 and was taking the lead on lap seven when a caution came out. On the restart he fell back in line behind Ryan and patiently worked his line until moving back to the lead on lap ten. From there he drove off to the win with Wetzstein holding off Misgen for second, Robbie Franklin from Shakopee and Ryan Goergen of Stacyville Iowa rounded out the top five. In victory lane after the race Koehler remarked that it was his 13th feature win on the season. Franklin and Garitt Wytaske grabbed the classes heat wins.

In Pure Stock action Jason Newkirk of Austin Grabbed his sixth feature win of the season at the track. Newkirk along with along with Matt Brooks of Austin and Brandon Shaner of Owatonna were in a three way battle for the lead when the trio came up on slower traffic. Shaner and Brooks were actually running one and two but as they got slowed by the slower car Jason Swept by them all to go to the front and race off to the win. Shaner held on for second. Newkirk also had a heat win on the night with the other heat win going to Daniel Guttormson of Austin.

Also chalking up his sixth feature win of the year was Kylie Kath of Owatonna in the USRA B Mod Class. For the second week in a row a front row starting spot gave Kylie clean sailing as he road to the win. AJ Zvorak of Blooming Prairie had a solid run coming from a row five starting spot to the runnerup spot ahead of Taylor Ausrud of Hayfield who started along side AJ in the fifth row. Kadden Kath of Owatonna, who had a heat win on the night came home fourth. The other heat win went to Zvorak.

Mike Blowers of Waseca racked up feature win number seven on the year as he paced the WISSOTA Street Stock class on the night with a pair of wins as he also grabbed his heat. Kory Adams of Stacyville Iowa came home in second ahead of Noah Grinstead of Austin, Kyle King of Hastings and Duran Peterson of Glenwood. Peterson got the classes other heat win.

Also getting feature win number seven on the year was Brandon Davis of Medford in the USRA A Mod Class. Davis started in row three and took five laps to move up to second behind Joe Horgdal of Kasson. Three laps later he was on point and lead the rest of the way to score the victory. Jason Cummins came from row five to run down Horgdal for second. The two ran side by side for much of the second half of the race before Cummins took control of the spot. Steve Wetzstein of West Concord came home fourth ahead of Greg Pfeifer Junior of Brownsdale. Darwyn Karau of Kasson and Alex Hanson of Northwood Iowa took home heat wins for the class.

In the Hornet Division Bobby Blowers of Waseca scored feature win number four of the season at Lansing taking just four laps to come from outside row three to the front. Last weeks feature winner Marissa Wolff of Janesville worked from the fourth row to finish second. Bobby also had a heat win on the night while the other heat belonged to Bailey Wolff of Janesville who picked up her first win of the season.

Racing action continues next Friday night with another full night of action with racing in six classes. Action scheduled to get underway at 7:00


Feature: Bobby Blowers-Waseca, Marissa Wolff-Janesville, Ralph Hanks-Waseca, George Schrumpf-Rochester, Bailey Wolff-Janesville, Nick Silman-Minnesota Lake, Cody Hyatt-Waseca, Caylie Blowers-Waseca, Jacob Bennett-Austin (DNS: Ryan Timm-Austin)
Heat 1: B Blowers, Schrumpf, M Wolff, Hanks, CJ Blowers
Heat 2: B Wolff, Silman, Hyatt, Bennett, Timm

Pure Stock:

Feature: Jason Newkirk-Austin, Brandon Shaner-Owatonna, Matt Brooks-Austin, Chris Hotovec-Dodge Center, Cole Kroneman-Austin, Jack Dunbar-Zumbrota, Josh Nelson-Albert Lea, Daniel Guttormson-Austin, Troy Maas-Faribault, Jim Briggs-Waseca (DNS: Zach Ehmke-Dexter)
Heat 1: Newkirk, Brooks, Maas, Nelson, Ehmke, Briggs
Heat 2: Guttormson, Hotovec, Shaner, Kroneman, Dunbar

WISSOTA Midwest Modified:

Feature: Nick Koehler-Bloomer WI, Ryan Wetzstein-West Concord, Jeremy Misgen-New Richland, Robbie Franklin-Shakopee, Ryan Goergen-Stacyville IA, Brayten Cisneros-Blooming Prairie, Jesse Hernandez-Blooming Prairie, Matt Stark-Austin, Michael Wytaske-Lansing, Dave Meyer-Thief River Falls, Brad Minske-Northfield, Luke Hainka-Wannamingo (DNS: Daryl Hainka-Wannamingo, Jaiden Bastyr-Austin, Tianna Mithun-Freeborn) (DQ: Garitt Wytaske-Lansing)
Heat 1: Franklin, Koehler, Stark, Wetzstein, Goergen, Cisneros, D Hainka, Mithun
Heat 2: G Wytaske, Minske, M Wytaske, Misgen, Hernandez, L Hainka, Bastyr, Meyer

WISSOTA Street Stock:

Feature: Mike Blowers-Waseca, Kory Adams-Stacyville IA, Noah Grinstead-Austin, Kyle King-Hastings, Duran Peterson-Glenwood, Bernie Adams—Stacyville IA, Fred Prudoehl-Winona, Brent Holland-Glenville, James Connors-Waseca, Zach Elward-Hayfield, Blake Adams-Stacyville IA
Heat 1; Peterson, K Adams, Bl Adams, King, Prudoehl, Holland
Heat 2: Blowers, Grinstead, Elward, Be Adams, Connors


Feature: Kylie Kath-Owatonna, AJ Zvorak-Blooming Prairie, Taylor Ausrud-Hayfield, Kadden Kath-Owatonna, Scott Demmer-Ellendale, Cole Lonergan-Dexter, Morgan Schrage-Cresco IA, Raey Hastings IV-Austin, Jayden Larson-Mankato, Mark Wytaske-Austin, Jesse Baer-Minnesota Lake, Nick Zago-Austin, Tim Gerber-Austin, Taylor Ovrebo-Wells, Kenny Wytaske-Lansing (DNS: Dave Henderson-Mason City IA)
Heat 1: Zvorak, Ky Kath, K Wytaske, M Wytaske, Lonergan, Schrage, Ovrebo, Gerber
Heat 2: Ka Kath, Demmer, Ausrud, Larson, Hastings, Baer, Zago


Feature: Brandon Davis-Medford, Jason Cummins-New Richland, Joe Horgdahl-Kasson, Steve Wetzstein-West Concord, Greg Pfeifer JR-Brownsdale, Darwyn Karau-Kasson, Alex Hanson-Northwood IA, Mark Motl-Owatonna, Greg Jensen-Albert Lea, Dwaine Hanson-Lakefield, Jacob Stark-Austin, Aaron Benson-Clear Lake IA, Jim King-Hastings, Dustin Sorensen-Rochester
Heat 1: Karau, Pfeifer JR, Horgdal, Sorensen, D Hanson, King, Motl
Heat 2: A Hanson, Davis, Wetzstein, Jensen, Cummins, Benson, Stark